• Background Image

    News & Updates

    Ubuntu Train

October 5, 2013

3rd Annual Tutu International Peace Lecture in Cape Town, South Africa

You are invited to take part in a series of events occurring in South Africa to mark the celebration of Archbishop Desmond Tutu’s 82nd Birthday. Archbishop Tutu’s birthday is on Mon. October 7th. We encourage you to send the Archbishop birthday greetings using the Twitter hashtag #Tutu82bday.

Highlights include an evening keynote speech from former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan speaking at the 3rd Annual Tutu International Peace Lecture in Cape Town, South Africa and all-day Peace Symposium with Archbishop Tutu, special guests from around the world and leaders of Tutu-named organizations.

Monday, October 7, 2013: You are invited to watch a live streaming video of Mr. Kofi Annan’s speech broadcasted on SABC’s (South Africa’s Broadcasting Company’s) website on Oct. 7, 2013 at 7PM in Cape Town (GMT+2)  or 1pm EDT in New York.

Tuesday, October 8, 2013: Desmond, Leah & Mpho Tutu, Rev. Robert Taylor and other conversation participants will participate in the Tutu Legacy Foundation’s first international “Ubuntu Train” peace symposium for representatives of Tutu named organizations.

This live stream should run on Tues 8 October from 2-3:30pm (Cape Town time) which translates [8am-9:30am NY EDT & 5am-6:30am PDT].  The link for the live stream is:

http://live.cput.ac.za/

Please note Archbishop Tutu will be opening the session at 2pm (Cape Town Time) and Robert Taylor will be one of the speakers.

You can participate in a Twitter chat by sending your questions and comments to the Twitter hashtag is #Tutu4peace2013.  We will be engaging & sharing #Tutu4peace2013 comments from 4pm-4:45pm (Cape Town time). The topic is Creating a Better Tomorrow.